My Space

I have a new computer! It’s a laptop, but I have it set up in my office (heh heh, MY office, actually “the” book room which is mostly full of Dad’s books with a corner desk built in for me) with keyboard, mouse, box to put the laptop on so the monitor is at eye height, new mouse pad, planning notebook, coaster for a cup, pinboard, pencil tin (currently empty), and our degrees and a couple of small pieces of art on the wall to my left. I have red velvet curtains behind the screen, and behind the red velvet curtains is the ivy-covered bank outside.

Now I just need something to write.

And a document holder, external hard drive, laptop backpack, printer, shelves for printer and paper, sticky labels, and a rubbish bin.

The walls in here are 90s textured creamy-ochrey-yellow and there’s a skylight in the ceiling above and behind my head. It smells of old books, because of Dad’s aforementioned hoarding tendencies¬†library. I am very comfortable. It is cool and quiet. Let’s hope this will be a productive space for the next five years or so, and not just a refuge from family chaos!

Leave a Reply

