Deep brain stimulation

It’s another week like that one in first semester – I have four assignments due within the space of nine days. The first was last week, on Wednesday afternoon. I gave a presentation on my thesis, which I have barely begun. The thesis preparation paper is worth twice as much as each of my other four papers, and this presentation was worth 20% of the paper. It was three minutes long, I had two slides, and I bloody* nailed it.

I am totally entering the three-minute-thesis competition next year. I’m really good at and enjoy public speaking. That makes me rare.

I managed to swot up all the last four drugs lectures yesterday for tomorrow’s test, including required readings, and I’ve watched the DVD that everyone else got to watch one evening but I couldn’t because I had the soccer practice drop-off to do so I borrowed it off the lecturer and watched it in the weekend.

That sentence needs rewriting.

Now I’m (well, not now, but most of this afternoon) working on my presentation for Wednesday, which is on deep brain stimulation for various conditions. Would you have electrodes planted in your brain to improve your memory? If it were guaranteed safe and painless? How about to cure depression? It’s a fascinating and slightly weird field. This is probably the first time I’ve found studying for this Nervous Systems Plasticity paper anything approaching enjoyable. Sad but true.

And then there’s the essay due on Friday. So I need to get the presentation out of the way today or tomorrow at the latest… The essay is on Internet support groups so it’s kind of fun but I have to be careful not to be too personal, as we have a different lecturer from the super-reflexive-qualitative G who taught us first semester. The new one is equally nice but much more ordinary-science-y. I like G. I’m an Arts student at heart… the MSc is just to look more impressive if I decide I do want to continue with neuropsych. I’m not 100% sure about that at the moment.

Although, being a kiwi, I must be 100% pure … something. Any ideas?

*Pardon my French.**

**Reply if you get the reference.

Leave a Reply

