Getting the cogs grinding

I woke up this morning at 6.30, thinking about my assignment, so I got up, grabbed my laptop and did an hour’s work on it.  This has never happened before.

You may notice the effect of my current glut of assignments on my punctuation: double spaces after full stops were requested so now I’m doing them everywhere.  I correct myself on Twitter but otherwise, meh.  Whatever.  It looks right when your paragraph is double spaced, somehow. Otherwise, it kind of gives the impression that you’re hyperventilating.  TOO…MUCH…BREATH……

I’m writing a blog post now because I am at the point in my Annotated Bibliography where I have a conclusion to write, probably looking at about five pages, and I have an outline with stuff to hang on it and my mind is blanking out.  This may be because it is 3.30 pm and I have already spent three hours writing, one and a half hours in class (I bailed before the student presentations) and at least half an hour wrestling with Word and EndNote.  I’m hoping that blogging will unstick the old word machine and get that vocabulary flowing juicily.

How does WordPress’s editor think “unstick” is not a word?  Bizarre.

You may also notice the odd sentence written in the passive voice.  I do my best to avoid it, but it’s hard in academia.  I swear some articles I’ve read were written entirely in the passive voice.  Which makes me want to turn on the ‘read aloud’ function on Adobe Reader because they just sound like a robot wrote them, and it seems appropriate that they should be read in a mechanical emotionless voice.

This is one of the things I like about interpretative phenomenological analysis, which is the style of qualitative research I am planning for my own thesis.  You actually get to hear real people speak.  I will record my conversations with my participants, and my data will be the transcripts of those conversations.  I will use quotes instead of graphs.  I will let the people I’m studying speak for themselves.  I can’t wait.

But in the meantime there are conclusions to write based on summaries of articles and the stuff I’m meant to have learnt in class about levels of intervention and public health perspectives and what-not.  And then there’s the research proposal for next week, for a topic I only vaguely understand.  I’ve never designed or run a lab experiment in my life.  This may be ridiculous.  

I’m quite good at faking it, though.  Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

